Here is Carol’s interpretation of the July-August theme:

In Carol’s words:

I loved the architecture of this piece, but didn’t think I could pull it off in applique or surface stitchery, so had to go my reliable counted work.

I used 18 count blue canvas. I would have preferred a lighter blue, but that wasn’t in my stash, so I guess we’ll pretend it was evening or nighttime. I used Caron’s Watercolours to do the needlepoint in the centre. I used the continental stitch, but reversed them to do the left side of the scrolls.

For the background top left and bottom right, I laid horizontal and vertical lines with a metallic #4 Braid from Kreinik. I couched it down at the intersections with a single strand of Gentle Arts thread. I used one strand of the same colour of Gentle Arts thread and laid down diagonal lines, couching it as I went.

I have certainly enjoyed doing these postcards these past two years. I feel like we have formed a bonding and a connection with each other, and it was fun to stretch myself outside of my usual stitching techniques. I’m glad to see some of you have continued on to the next group with me too.

